American Beauty

Once upon a time, I was a little girl watching Disney movies, getting brainwashed that I was some beautiful princess and I was gonna get swept off my feet by Prince Charming……bullshit. Women. What is the role of a woman? Are we living in the 1950’s and are role is to have a hot meal for our husbands at 6:00 sharp, tend to the house and the children, and let the man run the household? OR can we live our own live, and sometimes stand in our own light away from men? I used to have feelings that women should be second to men, and we can be our own equal but we will always come second. I used to also think women who were all about women’s right were just weird feminist. I don’t know what’s changed, but screw it! Why give a man a job, that you’ll just have to fix it for him later? One less thing to do aye? Don’t think I’m one of those crazy feminist women, that is switching teams or anything. I’ll be one to crack the first joke, “Sure, while I’m up I’ll make you a sandwich.” Just expect me to drop a hot one in it. What I am just saying is don’t tell me sit down and shut up. I can do the job just as well. I’d like to thank all the people out there for putting this brainwashed mentality into the minds of youth. Now women don’t go around with this dumb feminist attitude, that’s just not cute. But know what you do well and do it. Don’t let anybody stop you, man or woman. And men, stop thinking you are so macho, let the woman lead sometimes, let her feel a little bit of the power to. Hey think of it this way, one less thing you have to do. Sit back, drink a beer, relax.

That’s me.

~ by Lauraige on 06/13/2010.

Leave a comment