Anything You Can Do, I Can Do Better…..

Well, well, well, so I’ve already made it through my first week of food service practicums (my class where I have to work in the school caf from 6:30-1:00 every morning). This would be alright if I just didn’t have lectures right after and then work. Makes days long. I love it though, couldn’t be better. How often do you get to work with a classically trained French chef?! So, I mean does kind of suck when I don’t know the answer he yells at me in his thick french accent, “HOW DEED YOU PASS ZEE FIRST SEMESTER IF YOU DON’T KNOW YOUR S%@&!!!!! GET ZEE F#^% OUTTA MY FACE!!!!!!! GO SCRUB ZEE BEETS!!!!!” I just shrugged my shoulders and said “Okay.” Off I went scrubbing 50 lbs. of beets for over an hour. At least I didn’t have him yelling at me anymore. I’m sure many people would have a problem with getting yelled at like that, but I don’t know, I guess I don’t have a problem with it. I just, “QTIP” things, and maybe it’s that masochist in me as well. What good is it to just cry about it anyway? #1 you just look weak, and #2 it’s not gonna solve your problems. The days having been getting better, just took a little getting used to working in a production kitchen.

It’s also kind of fun being the only chick with 7 other male students. Maybe, that’s a little too much testosterone. The other chef in the kitchen, a chick, brought up that sore subject of being a woman in the kitchen. It’s just that constant reminder that I’m going to have to work even harder, move even faster, and prove myself even that much more, because this is the one time men don’t like women in the kitchen I guess….go figure. Whatever, I know I belong there. And it’s those constant self affirmations that move me that much closer to the goal.

~ by Lauraige on 03/14/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
